Dungeon Codex

Fogweaver - Labyrinthine

1. Rites of the Nameless Ones
2. Arha, the Eaten One
3. The Nine Stones
4. A Dragon-Hafted Key
5. Where No Light Had Ever Been
6. An Echo of a Distant Light
7. The Ring of Erreth-Akbe
8. To Escape by Werelight
9. Her True Name Spoken
10. Not a Gift Given, but a Choice Made
Total Time
February 18, 2022
Additional Details
Based entirely on the second Earthsea book, The Tombs of Atuan, "Labyrinthine" explores themes of freedom, responsibility, autonomy, and liberation. Tackling the themes of The Tombs of Atuan was a bit of an intimidating process for me. I knew I had to explore this aspect of Earthsea at some point and, for those of you who have read Earthsea, you know how much Atuan stands out from much of the rest of the books. The darker tone, the dread, the melancholy, the isolation, is all so different from other aspects of Earthsea in its adventurous yet, at times, somber nature.

Yet the journey of Tenar is something I come back to a lot, especially as an adult. The ideas of being pushed into a world and told exactly who you are and what the world is--to be told to not question, but to accept this world--this is all something that many of us can connect to, I imagine. And breaking free from that is a terrifying, yet a cathartic and, oftentimes necessary, part of growth as a human being.

There is much to say, but perhaps I will let the music guide you and speak to you in its own magical way. Thank you all for caring. Fogweaver, in many ways, is my werelight in the darkness of the world, and it means the world to me that people connect to it.
September 5, 2022
September 5, 2022
February 18, 2022
No reviews found. Register now to write the first one.
Added By: Daytol
September 16, 2022
Edited By: Opsiuscato
September 21, 2022
All material © 2023 Dungeon-Codex.com.
All rights reserved.